Nantes-Brest, the VAR has twisted again


By: Manu Tournoux

Brest obtained a great victory on the Nantes lawn this Sunday as part of the 16th day of L1. Not without a new controversy linked to VAR.

This would perhaps not have changed the fate of this meeting, perfectly negotiated by the Brestois at La Beaujoire this Sunday on behalf of the 16e lifting of Ligue 1. Thanks to Magnetti (49e) and Mounié (57e), the SB29 made the difference at the start of the second half, thus sealing the score of a rather balanced match overall (0-2). A game, however, which could have been restarted in the final moments if Abline’s goal had been validated.

Author of a powerful half-volley sent under the crossbar of the cage defended by Bizot in added time, the former Rennes striker thought he would reduce the gap. Only the arbitration body decided otherwise. Confined to video assistance today, Mr. Turpin took the initiative to alert his colleague on the ground, Mr. Millot, to report a (very) slight contact between Mohamed and Lala beforehand. A phase of the action which precipitated the cancellation of the Nantes project.

The VAR referee too systematically followed

Despite the inconclusive images which were sent to him to form an opinion, Mr. Millot, as very often in such cases, followed the postulate of the VAR which, let us remember, must only request the field referee in the event of obvious misconduct noted. However, this was certainly not the case here. And the Canaries will be able to consider themselves all the more aggrieved as a Brest handball in the area preceded Mohamed’s alleged foul on the action of Abline’s goal. A new stone in the VAR garden…

Leave a Comment